top of page

The Celebration of Advent

The Celebration of Advent begins this weekend and takes place on the four Sundays prior to Christmas and follows the weekly themes; HOPE, PEACE, JOY and LOVE.

This weekend we will light the first candle in our wreath, the “Prophet's Candle” reminding us that Jesus is coming. The Advent Wreath. A traditional part of the Advent season is the Advent Wreath or circle of evergreens. The circle is a symbol of eternity and a reminder that God has no beginning or end and the inclusion of the evergreens symbolises eternal life. Fastened to the wreath are four candles, three purple, and one pink, representing the four weeks of Advent. The gradual lighting of all the candles each week represents the increasing light of Christ as his coming draws near and provides a focus for our reflections each week. There is a fifth, and final, candle to be lit. Known as "Christ's candle", this white candle is placed in the middle of the Advent Wreath and lit on Christmas Day to represent the pure light of Jesus, who come on Christmas day as a baby in a manger.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page